Skip to content

Teacher Eligibility Test (TET) 2023 Recruitment Notifications for CTET, UPTET, MAHATET, HTET, RTET, PSTET and Other

Learn everything about Teacher Eligibility Test (TET) including eligibility for TET, education, TET salary and other requirement you must fulfil for Teaching Jobs in India.

The Teacher Eligibility Test, known as TET, is the minimum qualification required in India for a person to be eligible for an appointment as a teacher for Classes I to VIII. The test is mandatory for teaching jobs in Indian government schools. Similarly, UP Government introduced another qualifying after UPTET called Super TET. The TET is conducted by both the central and state governments of India. Most states conduct their own TET. The test is conducted to meet the objectives of the Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education Act, 2009. The TET certificate is valid for lifetime.

Central Teacher Eligibility Test – CTET

CTET Test is conducted by CBSE twice a year and is held in 20 Indian languages across various cities. Passing the CTET, conducted in accordance with NCTE Guidelines, is an essential requirement for appointment as a teacher in any of the Government schools. There are two papers: Paper 1, for teachers of Classes I to V, and Paper 2 for Classes VI to VIII. Candidates must score a minimum of 60% to become CTET Qualified, and the certificate is valid for lifetime.

Successful candidates become eligible to apply for recruitment as teachers of Classes I to VIII in schools under the purview of the Central Government (KVS, NVS, Central Tibetan Schools, etc.), and schools under the administrative control of the union territories (UTs) of Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu and Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, and the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT).

In addition to CTET (Central Teacher Eligibility Test), most states conduct their own TET test including AP, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Haryana, Punjab and Maharashtra. The exam is based on the Government of India’s National Curriculum Framework for Teacher Education, and is a mandatory qualification for incoming teachers for Classes I through VIII.

Andhra Pradesh & Telangana TET

TET weighting in the District Selection Committee (DSC) teacher selection entrance examination is 20%.

Uttar Pradesh – UPTET

The Uttar Pradesh Basic Education Board (UPBEB) holds its TET examinations (UPTET) once a year to select primary and junior teachers. The UPTET written exam comprises two papers:

Paper I: for primary level teachersPaper II: for junior level teachers

Candidates may sit either or both papers.

Rajasthan – RTET

The Rajasthan Board of Secondary Education (RBSE) organizes the Rajasthan Teacher Eligibility Test (RTET) for teachers in Rajasthan state. Teacher Eligibility Tests are conducted twice a year, for two levels, Level 1 and Level 2.

Candidates have 2 hours and 30 minutes in which to answer 150 questions. The Level 1 examination paper is divided into five parts. The Level 2 examination paper comprises four parts, of which parts 1-3 are mandatory.

Haryana – HTET

The Haryana Teacher Eligibility Test (HTET) is conducted by the Board of School Education Haryana (BSEH) from time to time, for the following categories of school teachers: Primary (PRT), Trained Graduate Teacher (TGT), and Post Graduate Teacher (PGT).

The examination comprises three categories:

Level I: for teaching Classes I to V (PRT)Level II: for teaching Classes VI to VIII (TGT)Level III: for post graduate teaching (PGT)

The HTET qualifying certificate is valid for a period of seven years from the date of passing the examination. There is no restriction on the number of times a candidate may attempt the test, and candidates who have already obtained the HTET/STET qualification may re-sit the test in order to improve their score.

Punjab – PSTET

The Department of School Education, Punjab is responsible for conducting the Punjab State Teacher Eligibility Test, or PSTET, examination. The PSTET is conducted as two different papers for candidates wishing to join the Punjab School Education Board as teachers:

Paper I: for recruitment of teachers from Classes I to VPaper II: for recruitment of teachers from Classes VI to VIII

Eligible candidates apply to sit the PSTET through the official Punjab School Education Board website.

Maharashtra – MAHATET

The Maharashtra TET (MAHATET) is a state-level teacher eligibility test (TET) conducted by Maharashtra State Council of Examination every year. The MAHA TET is conducted at two levels – primary (paper-I) for teacher of class 1st to 5th and upper primary (paper-II) for teacher of class 6th to 8th. MAHA TET or Maharashtra TET (Teachers Eligibility Test) conducted by the Maharashtra State Council of Examination (MSCE) to determine the eligibility of candidates for Classes 1 to 8 teachers in the schools of Maharashtra.

The MAHA TET exam is conducted at two levels – the primary (paper 1) and upper primary (paper 2). Candidates who plan to become teachers of Classes 1-5 need to appear for the MAHA TET paper 1. On the other hand, candidates who plan to be teachers of Classes 6-8 need to appear for MAHA TET paper 2. Candidates who wish to be teachers of Classes 1-8, need to appear for both papers 1 & Paper 2.

Latest Teaching Vacancies after TET Completion in India

Teaching vacancy in India today

You can check out today's teaching jobs in government schools, colleges, universities and institutes in various categories:

Teacher jobs Professor jobs
Lecturer jobs Assistant professor jobs
Instructor jobs Associate professor jobs
B.Ed jobs M.Ed jobs
Jobs by Education Teaching jobs